NAAB Accreditation

Harry Falconer, AIA, NCARB, Presentation: "The Path Toward Licensure"

In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year, three-year, or two-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.


Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a pre-professional undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the pre-professional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.


University of Maryland, School of Architecture, Planning, and Preservation, offers the following NAAB-accredited degree programs:


M.Arch (pre-professional degree + 60 graduate credits)

M.Arch (non-pre-professional degree + 109 credits)


Next accreditation visit for both programs: 2025


Additional information about NAAB can be found at: