Advising

URSP faculty members serve as “faculty mentors” to graduate students. In their first year, all URSP students are assigned a faculty mentor. Mentors are assigned on the basis of mutual interest with the student, but also on the basis of their availability. We strive to have an equal number of students per faculty mentor. The mentor has the responsibility of guiding the student through the program and helping with course selection and registration. A mentor's approval is required for class registration. If over the course of his or her study, a student feels more comfortable with another faculty member as a mentor, the student can change by making a request with the Program's Administrator. The faculty members who are mentors are shown below, along with their areas of teaching and research.

Faculty Mentor Email Address Teaching/Research Focus
Ariel Bierbaum bierbaum@umd.edu Housing, Transportation, Public Education
Casey Dawkins Dawkins1@umd.edu Housing, Land Use
Chengri Ding cding@umd.edu International Development, Economic Analysis
Marccus Hendricks mdh1@umd.edu Environmental Planning
Clara Irazabal irazabal@umd.edu Community Development, Glocal Planning
Hiroyuki Iseki Hiseki@umd.edu Economics, Land Use, Transportation
Gerrit Knaap gknaap@umd.edu Economics, Land Use
Willow Lung-Amam lungamam@umd.edu Social Planning, Urban Design Theory
Contact Clara Irazábal, URSP Program Director
CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
2 + 0 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.
Contact Melissa Tellez, URSP Program Management Specialist
CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
8 + 4 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.
Attachment/Document