Zachary Klipstein, Emily Lally Named 2023 “Emerging Professionals” by AIAPV

By Maggie Haslam / Oct 7, 2022 / Updated Oct 10, 2022

Emily Lally, Zachary Klipstein

Zachary Klipstein (B.S. Architecture ’10, M.ARCH ‘12) and Emily Lally (B.S. Architecture ‘15) join an elite group of future design leaders selected for the Emerging Professional Awards Program Class of 2023, a leadership development and mentorship program through AIA Potomac Valley (AIAPV). They are two of five outstanding emerging professionals selected from a competitive pool of 11 practitioners to participate in a year-long mentorship program with members of AIAPV’s Fellows community. He will be honored October 20 at AIAPV’s Design Leadership Awards.

Now in its second year, the Emerging Professional Practitioners annual competition provides an exciting new way to develop the rising generation of architects and tap the talents of AIAPV’s Fellows. Winners are selected based on leadership potential by a jury of AIAPV Fellows. In addition to the year-long program, winners earn a $500 cash award and a $1,000 stipend for leadership development programs and networking opportunities.

Klipstein, an associate at Torti Gallas + Partners, is no stranger to big wins; in 2011, he was part of UMD’s Solar Decathlon team, which took first place in the Department of Energy’s highly competitive net-zero solar house design/build competition. At Torti Gallas, he continues his green streak, leading sustainability efforts through a variety of stages of design and construction.

A senior project manager at Zavos Architecture Design, Lally’s work runs the project gamut, from single family homes to complete master plans. As a certified passive house consultant, she has worked with stakeholders across Frederick County on implementing passive and net-zero strategies.

"We are so proud to see Zachary and Emily continue to funnel their passions for sustainable and community-driven design into practice," said Mohammad Gharipour, director of the Architecture Program. "This is a tremendous opportunity for them to continue to grow in the profession.”

Learn more about this year’s winners here.

Program / Center Affiliation